Search:

Historic Towns & Picturesque Villages

Farnborough Hall 15 June 2011

Farnborough

in the county of Warwickshire

Ullswater farm

Ullswater

in the county of Cumbria

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

Best places in England to live

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**
1 2 3 4 Next >

Timothy Kingsley
Timothy Kingsley
quotePosted at 16:16 on 14th February 2010

I'll be moving to England this October, and I will be working at a veterinarian. What cities/towns do you think are the best to live in? I'm looking for nice scenery, nice people, and lots of wildlife [foxes,otters, hedgies] I'm also a photographer so picturesque areas would be nice. If there is a Waterstones nearby that would also be great. Also hopefully I can find a detached home, maybe a thatched cottage or tudor house for a decent price. I've been looking online and for smaller detached homes they cost almost a million pounds!

I was thinking of moving to one of these counties; Essex, Hampshire, Devon, Dorsey, Surrey, Norfolk, Cumbria, Kent, Suffolk or Berkshire. The city I'm thinking most into is Chelmsford, so what is your opinion of Chelmsy?

Edited by: Timothy Kingsley at:15th February 2010 00:12
My favourite: Pictures  |  Towns  |  Attractions
Cathy E.
Cathy E.
quotePosted at 16:22 on 14th February 2010
I think Berkshire is nice Timothy. Been there to visit and is somewhat centrally located so that it is not too far in any one direction to go except up North. So a day trip out you could have quite a library of photos!! Smile
Paul HiltonPremier Member - Click for more info
Paul Hilton
quotePosted at 16:51 on 14th February 2010

From your options listed Timothy, I'd go for Berkshire or Hampshire though staying away from large towns. As for your other options----Surrey, 2nd most expensive place to live after London;