Exploring the most Picturesque & Historic parts of England
There has been a mill on this site since around 1190. In monastic times, it was the principal mill for Tewkesbury Abbey from which it gets its name. The mill was rebuilt in 1793 and, at that time, had four wheels which powered the millstones. Although enlarged in the mid nineteenth century, Abbey Mill declined, following the construction of Healing’s Flour Mill at the northern end of the Ham, and eventually ceased operation as a mill in 1921, when it became a restaurant. In 2005 it was converted into a private residence. The white building was designed to be in keeping with the architectural style of the existing buildings and the overall setting. The mill is sometimes referred to as “Fletcher’s Mill”. Abel Fletcher was a Quaker miller who was immortalised in Mrs Craik’s nineteenth century novel “John Halifax – Gentleman”. It is regarded as a fine specimen of the “mellow brick” mill architecture and has been designated as a Grade II listed building.
This picture also appears in the following picture tour:
SONY DSC-RX100 Focal length: 10.4 mm, Aperture: f 1.8, ISO: 125 Exposure time: 1/640 sec
Date/Time Creation: April 27, 2016, 5:49 pm
ImageID:1199914, Image size: 2592 x 1944 pixels
Please login to make a comment on this picture