Pictures of England Pictures of England

Exploring the most Picturesque & Historic parts of England

Over 150,000 photos of England
22,000+ members
Click here to join the community

Search:

Explore England

St Just

PicturesOfEngland.com Member Login

You are not logged in.

Username:
Password:
   

Not registered yet? Click here to join!

Close

5 stars
Photographer: © Pat Trout (Gallery)(18th September 2015)
 Add picture to favourites

St Just

The Botallack Mine (Cornish: Bostalek) is a former mine in Botallack in west Cornwall, England, United Kingdom. The village is in a former tin mining area situated between the town of St Just in Penwith and the village of Pendeen.[1] Crown Mines, former tin mines, are low down the cliffs north of Botallack. There are two engine houses here and the mine extends for about 400 metres out under the Atlantic ocean; the deepest shaft is 250 fathoms (about 500m) below sea level. The mine ruins in the area are protected by the National Trust.[2] There are two arsenic works opposite the Botallack Mine count house. At the top of the cliffs there are also the remains of one of the mine's arsenic-refining works.[3] The 2015 BBC television series Poldark was filmed partly in Botallack, using Manor Farm as Nampara.[4] The mining developments around Botallack form part of the St Just mining district's successful inclusion in the Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape World Heritage site which was approved in July 2006. Getting ready for the next series of Poldark

A picture of: St Just ( More pictures of St Just by Pat Trout )

St JustCornwall

Share the beauty of England..

Pat Trout's latest   user contact   restricted free use   Wallpaper


Camera Make: Panasonic Model: DMC-FZ72
Exposure Program: Landscape, Focal length: 9.1 mm, ISO: 100, Exposure time: 1/1000 sec, Metering Mode: Multi-Segment, Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Date/Time Creation: September 12, 2015, 12:32 pm

ImageID:1198302, Image size: 1024 x 768 pixels

5 stars
Comment by rustyruth(19th September 2015)

Wonderful image Pat.

pictures by this user   user profile   user contact

5 stars
Comment by Vince Hawthorn(19th September 2015)

In reality this is/was Wheal Owles and worked between 1821-1907 and produced 8,950 tons of tin, 2,079 tons of copper, 50 tons of arsenic and 5cwt of uranium. Wonderful to see it again Pat and with extra bits for the filming.

pictures by this user   user profile   user contact

5 stars
Comment by Vince Hawthorn(19th September 2015)

Oh and in the background the building is the old counthouse, ie the official building of the mining sett where miners would collect their pay and large diners would be held for the owners and adventurers ( investors).

pictures by this user   user profile   user contact

5 stars
Comment by Zbigniew Siwik(20th September 2015)

Great shot.

pictures by this user   user profile   user contact

Please add a comment..

Please login to make a comment on this picture